About the Chairholders

The Chairholders selection

The Prince Claus Chair alternates annually between Utrecht University and the International Institute of Social Studies of Erasmus University Rotterdam. Holders are appointed for two consecutive academic years and reside at the institute in question for three months, in principle in April, May and June in the first year of appointment.

Prior to the selection and nomination of the candidate, the Curatorium identifies the main themes or topics for the period in question. The Curatorium then suggests potential candidates to the appropriate institute. The institute appoints the Chair holder.

6 March 2003, Utrecht University, Prof. S. Mansoob Murshed, HM Queen Beatrix, Enrique V. Iglesias, HRH Princess Máxima.

Current Chairholders

Professor Seye Abimbola

Dr Seye Abimbola
2020 – 2022
Justice in Global Health Research

Dr Gustavo García López
2019 – 2021
Sustainable Development, Inequalities and Environmental Justice

Dr Khayaat Fakier
2021- 2023
Care in relation to equity and development policies

Overview of all chairholders

Here you can find all Prince Claus Chairholders since 2003.