Professor Seye Abimbola

Chairholder 2020-2022: Dr Seye Abimbola

Seye Abimbola is a health systems researcher from Nigeria. He is currently a senior lecturer at the School of Public Health, University of Sydney in Australia. He had his initial training in medicine at the Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife in Nigeria.

Read more
Dr Gustavo García López

Chairholder 2019-2021: Gustavo García López

New Prince Claus Chair appointment: ‘Sustainable Development, Inequalities and Environmental Justice’ As of the 1st of September 2019 Dr Gustavo García López will hold the Prince Claus Chair (PCC) for a period of two years at the International Institute of Social Studies (ISS), part of Erasmus University Rotterdam. His thematic focus will be on ‘Sustainable…

Read more

Chairholder 2018-2020: Veena Srinivasan

About Veena Srinivasan Dr Veena Srinivasan obtained her doctorate from Stanford University in 2008 with research into the influence of urbanisation on water shortages in developing countries. She studied in Boston and Mumbai, and conducted research at the Centre for Interdisciplinary Studies in Environment and Development in Bengaluru (India). After obtaining her PhD, she continued…

Read more

Chairholder 2017-2019: Ali Bilgiç

As holder of the Prince Claus Chair, professor Bilgiç will focus on the relations between migration and the ‘human security approach’ to understand migration more comprehensively as a social, political and economic process and to identify and respond to associated policy challenges and dilemmas. He will work closely together with other academics of ISS/Erasmus University…

Read more

Chairholder 2016-2018: Fatima Suleman

Fatima Suleman (B.Pharm, M.Pharm, PhD) is an Associate Professor in the Discipline of Pharmaceutical Sciences, School of Health Sciences, University of KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa.She is also an Adjunct Assistant Professor at the College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences in the Department of Clinical Sciences (2009-2015) at Drake University, and co-collaborator for the AIDS Online International course…

Read more

Chairholder 2015-2017: Saradindu Bhaduri

Dr. Bhaduri will visit The Hague for a first period this fall to further plan his research agenda and prepare his inaugural speech, which will be held in  the spring of 2016. Dr. Bhaduri is currently based at the Centre for Studies in Science Policy, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi, India. During his term as…

Read more

Chairholder 2014-2016: Javier Couso

Professor Javier A. Couso, professor and director of the Constitutional Law programme at the Universidad Diego Portales in Santiago, Chile, has been appointed to the Prince Claus Chair of Development and Equity as from 1 September. During the next two years, he will be conducting comparative law research in collaboration with scholars at Utrecht University. Couso…

Read more
Dr Jumoke Oduwole

Chairholder 2013-2015: Jumoke Oduwole

Dr Jumoke Oduwole has been appointed to the Prince Claus Chair. As of 1 September 2013, she will hold this position for a period of two years, working on research on The Right to Development. Oduwole aims to define this theme in the African context and in relation to trade and human rights.   Dr Jumoke Oduwole…

Read more

Chairholder 2010-2012: Atul Kumar

On the recommendation of the Curatorium of the Prince Claus Chair, Utrecht University has appointed the Indian climate researcher Atul Kumar as holder of the Prince Claus Chair 2010-2012. During his two year appointment, Professor Atul Kumar will work closely with Professor Ernst Worrell, who is affiliated to Utrecht University’s Faculty of Geosciences as Professor…

Read more